Posting of Daily Goals for Decluttering/Organization – my Flight Plan

I’m looking back now to see the date I started this.  I wanted to build in a specific timeframe for completing the goal of being at maintenance level in our home organization.  The FlyLady took 9 months to build her routines and get to the point where she could be 15 minutes from company at all times and beat CHAOS (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome).  Using her already established routines, it should take me less time, right?  But I want a goal that I can make too!  How would it work to say, “Oh, sorry, let me revise that date.”  How much better to be able to say, “Woo hoo!  I made my goal in less time than I set for myself!”

Well, I started the Flight Plan blog on June 22.  I do want to post every day within reason.  If I can figure out how to quickly post words and/or pictures from my phone, I will certainly do so very regularly.  What I want to avoid is spending more time posting progress than I spend actually decluttering!!!  And that’s what happens when I spend my time figuring out how to post pictures, connect with Facebook and other media, and wonder how to get the feedback that is so essential to being accountable.

OKAY…. Catch Up Time

This week DH was in Canada, leaving our somewhat large garden to its own devices.  I commandeered the kids, and we cleared a significant portion of weeds to make life easier for Dad on his return and to do what I called “plant rescue”.  We literally could not find some of the smaller plants.  I did find that 15 minutes does not work so well for the kids.  Their 15 minutes produced minimal results and involved a lot of clock watching.  Instead, I got out colorful markers (oh, wish I’d taken a pic of those) and marked out the weed clearing territory for each of them.  It took more work to get them there than it did to actually weed, but once we were all working together, we did manage to make it enjoyable and completed the task in about 20 minutes.  What a valuable lesson in working together; doing a job you don’t really like for the end results of seeing your accomplishment; being part of growing the food we eat; helping someone else, etc, etc, etc.

The garden before starting. This section is corn. We also rescued some stray beans, left over by the rabbits and deer.

What a difference! There’s the corn AND the beans! Thanks for your help, kids! Couldn’t have done it without you.  (Ages 17, 13, 10, for those of you wondering how effective my kid helpers could be expected to be)

Next post will have long- and short-term goals

Leave a Reply

Pursuing "enough"

Finding contentment in a "more is better" world

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

literallylaurie

the semi-literary works of....me

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Blue, Butterflies, Books, Sheep - Turning Randomness into Order

Posting of Daily Goals for Decluttering/Organization - my Flight Plan

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Single Again

wanderings and wonderings of a girl who is single, again.

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

Life isn't so much a puzzle as it is a plan

I live. I think. I write. I shoot. Unedited.

Home Baked

Home Ec in the 21st Century

Nathansno1 Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Cierra's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Owatonna K-8 Explorations

Just another WordPress.com site

